WHAT IF I WAS SINGLE- by Jesse

blog-graphicThis past Sunday, I took the last antibiotic pill I was prescribed to take by my doctor to overcome some insane congestion I had that was quite debilitating. We’re walking into the cold and flu season and it welcomed me with open arms. I hate being sick!

I was out of it for about ten days. Achiness, respiratory congestion, sore throat and coughing was my life during that time and it was horrible. The massive bummer of it all was the fact that I had to keep my distance from the rest of the family; seemingly quarantining myself for their safety and health.

It wasn’t cool not being able to connect with the boys over a game of basketball or to pick up my little girl and nestle a kiss into her fluffy little cheek. It was tough, but what had to be even tougher was the fact that my wife had to pick up all of my slack. If you ask my wife, she’ll tell you that when I’m sick, it’s harder on her than it is me. And I totally get that. We both carry responsibilities to make our home function (i.e., household chores, homework help, tending to a very demanding toddler, etc.)

She literally becomes Wonder Woman (which BTW opens in theaters nationwide next summer!)

There was a moment within that 10-day period watching Missy operate in overdrive mode where I thought to myself, ‘What if I was single? What if I didn’t have the blessing of having a partner to help with life and its responsibilities when I’m weakened or sick?’ Then I began to think about all of the single parents out there in the world.

Single parents don’t have the opportunity to ‘tag out’ of their family responsibilities and allow their spouse to play double duty until they heal. Single parents don’t have that luxury. They’re forced to find strength to push forward at all times, even when they find themselves in a 10-day congestive valley coughing their lungs out…they still have to help with the homework, they still have to draw the bath, they still have to be Wonder Woman or Superman.

I just wanted to take this blog post and send a gigantic SHOUT OUT to all of the single parents I know or don’t know in this world. You are true heroes, tasked with leading at a level that many of us don’t. Single parents, please know the investment you are pouring into your child is enormous and know your child will most assuredly see that…and in fact appreciate you TWICE as much as my kids will ever appreciate me. Because you did it for two! I pray you feel the power and resource of our God as you carry out your parenting in ways I and so many others truly appreciate you for.

In fact, let’s take a moment within the next day or two and find a way to encourage a single parent by grabbing them a cup of coffee at work, or bringing them over a KFC meal for dinner and telling them you love them, writing them a note of appreciation or simply just praying for them, because they are some amazing human beings and they should be honored as such.

‘Being a single parent is not a life full of struggles, but a journey for the strong.’ Meg Lowery

Much love to you! Especially during this cold and flu season!

 Jesse

Leave a Reply

