Dad Life- by Tim

img_1874img_1856img_1857

Wow all I can say is wow!

Before I talk about our amazing God gift, I want to thank each and every one of you that prayed, said kind words, brought us meals, and even just smiled with a nod. Ashley and I are so blessed to have a church family like you all. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

Soooo, I’m a Dad…On October 10, 2016 at 11:48P, Mabel Elizabeth Overstreet was pushed into this world.  I was shocked to say the least.  Ashley is a trooper. She was actively pushing for over three hours straight. I can tell you I have never felt so empathetic in all my life; that looks horrifyingly painful. My wife is a super-human.

We are blessed, every time I see her smile I can’t help but feel this amazing love, she is perfect even though she can fill up a diaper to the point of overflowing. The moment she arrived and I saw her for the first time my life changed. It was crazy and I can only relate it to one thing.

This past Sunday our SAVOR leader, Sandy Miller, continued the talk on the fruits of the spirit.  She said something in her message that struck me. She said “When you experience the love of Christ you are never the same.” That is so true. When I first felt God’s love it changed me and I began a journey to seek after God, the only thing I can compare that “feeling” with is when I saw Mabel for the first time. It was a love I can’t explain; except this time, I was on the giving side of that love. It really opened my eyes up to the way Christ feels about all of us. We are each his children and we were born into his family, His blood flows through our veins (I did steal that line from one amazing song No Longer Slaves.) He is our Father if we make the choice to follow him. And by following him I mean seeking him out, learning about him, being with people that are seeking him as well. When you experience Gods love you are never the same and when you start to accept Gods love your life begins to change.

DAD LIFE…I love to imagine the feeling God gets when we turn to him and are born again.

Check out Sandy’s talk on our podcast here and catch up on all of the talks there I pray it impacts and blesses your lives.

 

God Bless

Tim

Friend Tim on Facebook or follow him on twitter @timoverstreet1
Follow Journey Church on Twitter @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

