Always Growing Up- by Angel

When I was younger I remember thinking “When I grow up I want to…” The end of that thought changed often as I grew and my interests evolved and my knowledge of things broadened. I also remember that I thought adults in their thirties had ‘peaked,’ that they knew all they would know and they were exactly where they would be in their lives forever (careers, money, cars, etc.)

Fast forward to me today, well into my thirties (we will leave out the part about me about to exit that decade.) I most certainly do not have it all figured out and the only thing I know for sure is that I still do not know what I want to be when I grow up.

Please do not mistake that statement as me being immature (although sometimes I am that too) or that I am unhappy with were I have landed so far. I am happy to say I am still growing up. For me, this simply means that I do not believe God is done with me yet. I am always learning from those around me. I am always striving to do better in whatever I do while expanding my knowledge in all areas of life.

Lately, I have had the chance to have several self reflection moments. I would encourage each of you to take a moment to look back on your recent actions, words, and thoughts. I do not always enjoy what I discover about myself but I do thank God that he has the grace for my mistakes, my flaws, and gives me the chance to grow and try again.

Today, I just wanted to remind each of you that it is ok to not be perfect. Take each stumble as a chance to learn and continuing growing. Growing up is a journey, not a destination. Besides, what fun would it be if we had it all figured out by 30…or 40.

P.S.- Any guesses on the ages of the pictures above? I thank God for puberty and better fashion trends. What were we thinking with all that hair?! HA!

Angel

Leave a Reply

