You Are Annoying — by Jake

MayBlog‘If I could speak all the languages of earth and of angels, but didn’t love others, I would only be a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal.’  1 CORINTHIANS 13:11 (NLT)

Somehow I started playing the drums when I was in 8th grade. I say somehow because I never really planned on learning or had a desire to. However, my two best friends, Aaron and Tim, had both begun to practice music around this time. Aaron on the drums and Tim on the guitar. I guess I just needed something to do, so Aaron taught me how to play percussion.

Fast forward twenty years and both Aaron and Tim make a living playing their instruments. I, though, have kept it mostly at hobby-level. I know enough and can play enough to keep up on Sundays. I’ve never been able to find a next level passion for it, though. And that’s OK. I love being able to play with an incredible worship team made up of fantastic musicians.

The challenge of playing an instrument for any audience is this: play it well or you will just be noise. No one wants to listen to noise. It’s obnoxious. There are laws against unnecessary noise. It’s very easy to make noise with the drums. There’s a huge difference between ‘hitting’ the drums and ‘playing’ the drums. If you want to make a racket go start banging away. If you want to compose a song, learn to play.

This is what life is: learning to love. There are many of us who have no idea how to do this. Instead, we walk around spouting off our knowledge, boasting in what we know or what we’ve done. That is noise. That is annoying. The goal of attaining knowledge and doing good works should always be to love others. Learn to love and become someone that other people want to listen to. Otherwise, you’ll be as obnoxious as a two-year-old with a new drum kit.

Jake

Friend Jake on Facebook or follow him on Twitter @cjakelawrence
Follow Journey Church on social media @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

