A Step Forward — by Angel

StepForward_Layher“He is not going to make it.”

Those were the words the doctor spoke; those were the words we heard as the room fell completely silent followed by a chaos of tears, shock and utter disbelief.

So fast forward a week … the hardest and longest days we were to experience. The week that seemed to creep by and each day presented itself with harder decisions and more and more silence. The funeral, a very beautiful celebration of life is over, the cards and texts and phone calls have stopped. Now what? What happens next?

Now is the time to take a step forward. For each person in our family, this means something different. Personally, for me, I had to take a step back, reflect on what just happened, take a long and slow breath, take a moment to pray (even when I felt like I had no words to say) and then I was ready.

The first step was just that, taking the step. I have to determine what our new normal will be. I just lost my Dad. Yes, he was technically my father-in-law, but in all ways, he was my Dad, too. My husband just lost his Dad, my girls lost their grandpa, and my mom (mother-in-law) lost her mate in life. How do I keep moving forward and help my family to do the same?

This was the lead of our family. He was our guide when we did not know what to do next; he was Mr. Fix It when our stuff broke; he was our laugh when we just needed to laugh, he was a huge part of our hearts and now he is gone.

For me, I found taking a step forward was little easier because I knew God was right beside me. He was ready to listen when I wanted to cry. He was able to take it when I was mad, ready to remind me that my Dad was now with Him and He knew if I was willing, I could find comfort in His words.

I am by no way suggesting this is an easy time. It is actually quite difficult. Everyone around me is continuing with life as normal while I have an empty feeling that only time and trusting in God can heal. I do, however, know that my Dad is now resting in the amazing arms of Jesus and I will see him again one day. Until then, I will find comfort and strength in God’s words and through the amazing memories we made together. I thank God that he blessed me with 22 unforgettable years with such an amazing man.

“Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.”
Matthew 5:4

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”
John 16:33

“And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”
Philippians 4:7

Leave a Reply

