Missing You … — by Steve

Absence_MillerAs I’ve recently had to experience and learn all over again, absence really does make the heart grow fonder. For different reasons in recent weeks, Sandy (my sweetheart soul mate of nearly 28 years) and I have been apart from each other for a few days here and there. It’s not unbearable by any means, but in layman’s terms … it stinks!

The little things that can sometimes bother you or cause irritation at home are somehow cute again. You know, all those idiosyncrasies that you loved while you were dating but later became annoying … they are all sweet and fun and attractive again. I’ve often wondered if absence and distance really does make the heart grow fonder, and one recent study says that indeed it does.

A recent USA Today article cites a new study by the Journal of Communication that says couples in long-distance relationships have more meaningful interactions than those that see each other on a daily basis. AND that those interactions lead to higher levels of intimacy (brown chicken, brown cow) … In addition, those same couples were more likely to idealize their mate. That’s all good stuff.

As people, we hear all about this ‘fondness’ talk and of course we automatically associate it with romantic relationships. However, it applies to all of our relationships: friends, siblings, parents, co-workers and so on. They all get better with distance.

And then that got me to thinking … what about our relationship with God? Does Jesus like me more when I stay away? Does His view of me, His appreciation for me or His anticipation of me change in the least? NOT. ONE. BIT. But that doesn’t mean he doesn’t long to hear from me when I’ve been away from Him. He desires to be in relationship with us in the strongest possible way.

The image above with “I Miss You” written on a hand … that’s Him. And He doesn’t just write it on His hand. He writes it in the sky. He puts it in the hearts of other people to tell me. He sends me little hints and clues and reminders that He is ALWAYS there, anxiously waiting for me to return His call.

“The Lord your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you with gladness; he will quiet you by his love; he will exult over you with loud singing.”
Zephaniah 3:17 (ESV)

That sounds to me like someone I want to spend time with on a regular basis. When he calls your name, rush to meet Him! You won’t regret it.

Steve

Friend Steve on Facebook or follow him on Twitter @stevemiller31
Follow Journey Church on social media @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

