I’m Done — by Tim

Frustrated_OverstreetLately, I have something stirring in my heart so big I cannot contain it.

I was visiting my family over Christmas and while at their church, I saw something or more like it was pointed out to me by God. When I walked into the building there was anticipation for the worship to start. People were moving to the front of the auditorium to get closer to the stage, to feel the rumble of the bass coming out of the speakers, joining together to worship. Some people stayed in their seats talking with others around them excited about what was about to happen. The energy that was in that room was electric.

Was it because of the church I was in or the worship team that was about to come to the stage and lead us? The answer is a strong NO. These people were there to connect with our God, our Savior, and the one who created us. They were excited to be there and with no coffee in their hands so they could clap or worship however they wanted to … expressing their love for Christ.

During worship I remember having a moment with my wife, Ashley. It was the first time we had been in a worship service together that I wasn’t leading it. I grabbed her hand while lifting my other hand in worship thanking God for her and then BAM … someone thought it would be a good idea to break out a shofar (here is a link if you’re curious what this is: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shofar) completely ruining our moment. Thankfully we just looked at each other and laughed. There was a day when I would have said what an idiot and then curse the guy out.

Change starts in worship. If we want our communities to change, if we want to see miracles, signs and wonders, then we have to be excited to worship! It is an understanding of how much Jesus loves us, His love brings a smile to my face. Will you see weird horns, maybe some flags or even a tambourine? Yes, but thank God for amazing ushers to help keep order in the midst of extra ordinary excitement.

I’m done with trying to figure out why some places have supernatural things happen during their services. I don’t care anymore. I want to see those things and the change they bring right here in my town, in my life. Not a distance away, right here right now and it starts with worship.

Tim

Friend Tim on Facebook or follow him on Twitter @timoverstreet1
Follow Journey Church on social media @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

