Be Careful What You Hear — by Jake

WhatYouHear_LawrenceGrowing up, my well-intentioned parents, youth pastor, church camp speakers and others were always very concerned about the music my friends and I were listening to. I’m pretty sure everyone in their young age has or will experience the same talking points centering on “what you put into your mind is what will come out.” As a teenager, of course, my response would be something like “but I just like the music. I don’t listen to the words.”

This response is laughable, right? I know I’m not the only one to use it, either. Truth is that those people mentioned above were right. We need to be mindful of what we consume. I think, though, that it’s important to not get caught up in certain and specific ‘bad’ words that song lyrics may contain. As I was having this same conversation with one of my youth (yeah, now I’m the youth pastor spouting the advice. YIKES!) I encouraged him to think about the content, imagery and subject that the singer is bringing to the song.

Now that age has provided some wisdom, along with a better taste in music, I do not feel the need to ask our students to get rid of their music as a symbolic turn from what’s ‘bad.’ Besides, how would we even do that in 2016? Who buys CDs anymore? “Ok, teens. As we stand around this fire, on the count of three, let’s all push DELETE on our playlists.” What an awkward scene that would be.

All that to say that what you listen to or watch or read or browse should do nothing to pull you from what God wants for your life. What is He telling you about what you’re consuming? Ask Him. Listen to what He’s saying. And then follow that.

Oh, yeah, since I have grown up and started to actually pay attention to what songs are about, I’ve found that I have zero patience for terrible song lyrics. I know, I know … it’s all matter of taste and opinion. That being said, here is what I’ve been listening to a lot lately. Check him out.

Forgive Me For Asking by Propaganda

Jake

Friend Jake on Facebook or follow him on twitter @cjakelawrence
Follow Journey Church on Twitter @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

