All Things New — by Tim

AllThingsNew_OverstreetThe last six months of my life have been … well, life changing. On Nov. 7, I said I do, vowing to love, honor and always close cabinet doors after opening them. I will never forget that day … watching Ashley walk down the grass isle toward me, shaking Jeff’s (Mr. Hazel) hand and knowing he is giving me the best gift ever!

As I took her hand and led her up to the place where we said our vows in front of all of our friends and family, I distinctly remember thinking, “How in the heck did I get to where I’m standing right now?”

Six months ago, sometime in May I was sitting on a beach late at night; the next morning I would be heading back to Troy. Something happened that night. I screamed at God saying I can’t do it anymore. I have been faithful. I am doing everything I am supposed to do and here I am feeling the loneliest I have ever felt in my life! I was missing my other half; I was missing my wife. I have been asking God for a wife for a long time and on Nov. 7 He delivered big time!

Not only does our God make good on his promises, He also really does make all things new. This past Sunday was my first week back at Journey Church leading worship after our honeymoon. While singing the song “All Things New” I felt my brand new ring on my finger as I changed chords on the guitar. At that moment, I started singing “and You’re making all things new.” Let me tell you what, He really does make all things new!

I have a past, much like all of you. I want to encourage you today, why? Because HE … God makes all things new. If He can do it in my life, He will do just that in yours. Life is not a lottery where God chooses to make your life all new, it’s a choice. Choose to follow Christ and make him No. 1; if you do, your old will surely become new.

I’ll never forget a promise I had to make Jeff before he would give me the blessing to marry his amazing daughter. He said “Tim, you have to promise me Ashley will not be No. 1 in your life. Promise me Christ will always be No. 1 in your life. If you do that, I know my daughter will always be taken care of.”

Make Christ No. 1.
God Bless

Tim

Friend Tim on Facebook or follow him on twitter @timoverstreet1
Follow Journey Church on Twitter @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

