I’m Adapting — by Missy

Adpapting_Boys_MQuirozThe message this past Sunday on Adaptability hit home for me and where I’m at more so than any message has in a while. At the beginning of this year, I pictured my life on a path that is so different than what it is right now.

Adpapting_Quote_MQuirozIn January, I started helping out more at the church, coming in each week and finding a place to help grow this ministry and get it ready to take on all that we want to take on as a church to reach our community. I was excited about the role I could play and my part in that. I was finding my place and picturing my future. As my boys were taking steps into independence and adulthood, I started picturing the involvement in the church and all that I could do increasing. I was excited about the part I could play, and I was enjoying it.

Adpapting_Aisha_MQuirozThen came the news … you will be having another child; the path I thought God had laid out for me wasn’t at all what I was picturing. My mindset had to change now from total involvement in ministry and our church to another precious life that God was giving me to raise to follow him. These two paths seem so different and far from each other but I know that somehow God has it all worked out to coexist in perfect harmony. Romans 8:28 says, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

He does have a purpose for my life but it’s His purpose not mine, and I have to be willing to adapt to it and leave my expectations and desires behind and continue to move forward in the future He has for me. There are great things ahead and I am still very excited about it; it just looks very different than I thought that it would.

Missy

Friend Missy on Facebook or follow Journey Church on social media @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

