I Married My Best Friend — by Jake

TimWedding_LawrenceOn Saturday, November 7, 2015, I had the great privilege to marry my best friend.

And yes, my wife, Nancy, and I have been married for 11 years. Allow me to clarify. I had the great honor of performing the ministerial duties for the wedding ceremony of Tim and Ashley Overstreet. It will definitely be one of the greatest memories between me and a guy who has been as close as a brother since we were 14 years old. For Tim, his marriage to Ashley is the culmination of a lot of prayer and perhaps even more patience. He definitely deserves someone as great as Ashley.

Everyone deserves a friend as great as Tim. I get pulled aside all the time by those also close to him who tell me that if it wasn’t for our friendship, Tim may be in a totally different place right now. They tell me that Tim needed me. While I understand and agree even, I must admit that I need Tim. You do, too…well, maybe not Tim specifically, but a friend that’s just as close.

A friend such as this is what everyone needs. Everyone. Someone who provides help when I’m overwhelmed, encouragement, accountability, an outlet for confession, and who I can completely be myself around no matter what the situation. If you don’t have this type of friend, find them. You need it.

Congratulations Tim and Ashley!

Jake

Friend Jake on Facebook or follow him on twitter @cjakelawrence
Follow Journey Church on Twitter @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

