Freedom Behind Bars — by Tim

BehindBars_OverstreetI know the title of this blog doesn’t even make sense at first glance but let me explain.

This past Saturday, I had the honor to take part in one of the greatest things I have ever seen in my life. I was able to stand on stage and lead inmates in worship. While standing on the platform, I remember thinking ‘How in the world do these prisoners have more freedom in worship than me? They are in jail, and I am the one that is supposed to be ministering to them, right?’

Here is the honest to God answer … I’m free on the outside but I still hold things back, I still beat myself up over decisions I have made in the past; I think we all do that to some degree. Here I am standing in front of over a thousand inmates wishing I was on the same level as them with our Maker. I love these moments in my life because I know there is a layer about to be peeled away and I’m going to get stretched.

Total reliance on Jesus … that’s how you become free, even if you are behind bars and it’s a Journey! It is a reality check that I think we all should look at in our lives daily and reevaluate our own state of freedom. I always wondered how Paul could write things the way he did while imprisoned. I get it a little bit more now; he was more free than his captors.

I love the new revelations God gives!

Tim

Friend Tim on Facebook or follow him on Twitter @timoverstreet1
Follow Journey Church on Twitter, YouTube and Instagram @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

