Life is A Vapor — by Steve

MillersAtArrowhead_Miller

MILLERS @ ARROWHEAD — That’s me, Aaron (his son), Pat and Casey (my son) at Arrowhead Stadium last fall. It was the first time he’d been there to see an NFL game. I’m so glad we took the time to do that.

We all live our lives like they will never end, like we are indestructible and as if we have limitless time on this earth. But in reality, the opposite is true. Our lives end. We are mortal. Time is limited. In essence, Life is a vapor. Poof … and it’s gone.

As many of you already know, one of my older brothers, Pat, passed away on Tuesday evening near my parents’ family farm in rural Silex. And as any death that comes across our path suddenly, unexpectedly and unwanted, this loss has been a massive shock to our family and community. However, the incredible outpouring of love, support and prayers from family, church, friends and other loved ones has been overwhelming. Your love makes taking the next step bearable so from the entire family we say THANK YOU!

For those of you that knew Pat well, you understand when I say he was a man that could be the definition of a walking contradiction. He was quiet and loud, tough and loving, tender hearted and heartless … and I mean all of those in best possible way. He kept to himself but loved good conversation. He didn’t’ often flash his smile, but Oh Boy when he did … the room would light up. His big belly laugh could put a smile on the most stonehearted grinch. He loved deeply even though I don’t believe he really knew how. For all the rough and gruff and tough, he was really a big softy. And just about everybody that knew him had a soft spot for good ole Pat. We will miss you, brother.

So why do I say all this? We each have ‘Pats’ in our lives. The misunderstood. The injured soul just trying to get by in life. The guy or girl that we know we love but just can’t get close to. Here’s my encouragement to you today: Don’t wait until it is too late. Cherish the days. Breathe in deeply and take the vapor that is so quickly vanishing from your life; IT IS GOOD for you.

My brother turned 60 this past January, and the years flew by. I guarantee it. Take the time today to touch that soul you know God is calling you to reach. You will NOT regret it.

Steve

Friend Steve on Facebook or follow him on Twitter @stevemiller31
Follow Journey Church on Twitter @Journey_MO

One thought on “Life is A Vapor — by Steve

  1. I liked that a lot Steve thanks for sharing. I know I have been struggling a lot lately. We lost two family members within 8 days or so. First my niece from a heroin overdose and then my dad who was so heartbroken that he gave up his fight with COPD. But it gives us a kinda peace knowing he is not suffering anymore. Life is so precious. You need to let everyone know how much you love them and if thier are family members who burned the bridge you need to forgive them and move on. The last words I said to my niece were not that loving but were loving if that makes any scene. But anyways I’m sorry for your loss and you and your family are in my thoughts and prayers

Leave a Reply

