Adventures, Old & New — by Brittany

Adventures_BBrooksOver the past three years, Danny and I have been truly blessed by his job at Southwest Airlines. It has been both a great provider of income and benefits for our family. We have had so many traveling opportunities that would just not have been possible without his job there. I mean really, who could not be blessed by free flights?

About six months ago we really started to feel God pulling him away from Southwest to be more involved with the church and when we started to feel drawn to be the full-time Journey Kids directors, I can honestly say that I was terrified. I mean, didn’t God provide Danny with this amazing job that has not only been a blessing to us but also to people around us and now he wants us to walk away from it? I was torn between choosing to stay with what God had given us or moving on to the new thing that He had for us. One night as Danny and I were talking, Danny kept asking me, “Do you trust God?” It reminded me of the story in the bible about the rich young ruler.

Someone came to Jesus with this question: “Teacher, what good deed must I do to have eternal life?”

“Why ask me about what is good?” Jesus replied. “There is only One who is good. But to answer your question—if you want to receive eternal life, keep the commandments.”

“Which ones?” the man asked.

And Jesus replied: “‘You must not murder. You must not commit adultery. You must not steal. You must not testify falsely. Honor your father and mother. Love your neighbor as yourself.’ “I’ve obeyed all these commandments,” the young man replied. “What else must I do?” Jesus told him, “If you want to be perfect, go and sell all your possessions and give the money to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.”

But when the young man heard this, he went away sad, for he had many possessions.

Matthew 19:16-22

I remember as a child hearing this story and thinking, “That man is so dumb! How could he not know that this is GOD talking to him and what GOD has is way better than what he may have?” I couldn’t help but think, what ever happened to that rich young ruler? What would have happened if he had done what Jesus said? WHO would he have been and WHAT COULD HE HAVE DONE FOR OTHER PEOPLE?

Yes, God blessed the rich young ruler with everything that he had up to that point. But the blessings that were in store for him far outweighed the money and property that he had. He couldn’t see past his present to God’s future for his life.

God is so good and his blessings are evident everyday in our lives but sometimes he calls us away from things he has provided for us to grow us and move us on to new blessings and to allow us to be a blessing to others in different ways. There will always be growing pains as we mature and our faith is stretched but in order for us to grow we have to let go of the old and allow God to do a new thing in our lives! What is the “new thing” in your life that God is trying to do? Will you trust Him to provide in this new season of your life?

Isaiah 43 is my absolute favorite chapter in the whole bible so I will leave you with just a piece.

“Forget about what’s happened; don’t keep going over old history.
Be alert, be present. I’m about to do something brand‑new.
It’s bursting out! Don’t you see it?
There it is! I’m making a road through the desert, rivers in the badlands.”
Isaiah 43:18-20

Brittany

Leave a Reply

