Why I Said “YES”

WhyISaidYes_HazelTim shared his side of the story and now you get to read mine. It’s true, he asked me to marry him on Aug. 7 and without hesitation I said, “Yes.” Most of you were probably in shock when you heard the news and some of you probably even hoped that we would come to our senses!

Here are a few things you should know about me:

1) I am not an impulsive person.
2) Discernment plays a vital role in my life.
3) I have always loved the Olympics. In this situation, I like to think of myself as a diver and naturally the pool represents marriage. Just like every Olympic diver, most everything in my life has led to this moment. As tandem diving partners, Tim and I are aiming for a perfect 10 (gold medal status)! Did I mention I love the Olympics?!

If you ever speak to any of my family or friends, they will tell you that dating was never a priority of mine. When it came to relationships, my Mom used to tell me and my sister that we walked through life with our eyes closed. It’s true. So I started to pray that God would open my eyes when it was time.

I prayed for someone that loved the Lord, had a heart for people and was a leader. Most people knew that’s what I wanted, but what they didn’t know was that I also wanted someone with a joyful disposition, an adventurous spirit, someone that follows through on His Word, and even someone that can put me in my place when needed. And what did God do? He brought Tim into my life … and out of nowhere. He was everything that I had been praying for … and more.

I knew I was going to marry Tim the second time we spoke on the phone. That certainty was affirmed when he said he was coming to Nashville the first time to meet me … and he actually came.

“I remember the days of old. I ponder all your great works and think about what you have done.”  — Psalm 143:5 (NLT)

This is one of my favorite verses! God is so good. I am continuously amazed at the kindness that He has shown me. Do you ever sit back and think about all that God has done for you? All the times He has been faithful? I am trying to be more cognizant of this, making thanksgiving a part of my everyday life.

I want to encourage you to take time each morning and think about how God has shown kindness to you. It will change your life, I promise! Tim is just one of the many ways that God has shown kindness to me and I still can’t believe he chose me!

My parents would always say, “You’ll know when you know.” Well, they were right. In my heart of hearts, I know. God opened my eyes and gave me this unexplainable peace in my spirit. I love Tim Overstreet and I can’t wait to start a life with him. He stole my heart. So what now? I’m going to steal his last name!

Ashley Hazel

Leave a Reply

