A View from My Seat — by Missy

?

?

Sometimes a change of perspective is all it takes to see the light. One Sunday after church at Journey as I was standing by the doors as people left, and I had someone ask me what it was like to live with Jesse Quiroz. It has to be so entertaining, they said. I just laughed at the thought imagining him jumping on the couches and speaking to us as if he was preaching on a Sunday morning.

It’s not quite like that. So, I thought it would be great to share a little peek into the life of living with Jesse Quiroz, a passionate person and pastor. As a wife and partner in this ministry with Jesse I have had to learn to find my place beside this personality that seems to be so great at anything he puts his mind to do. He is strong, and focused and not afraid.

I, however, am timid and afraid to fail. Yet, I knew before I met Jesse that God had personally called me to do His work and His will, and I was ready and willing not knowing exactly what would be involved. So, with that call and desire to serve God I have over the years (and even just recently) have gained that confidence to believe God wants to use me to do great things. To be serving people in this church and area is a great privilege that has been trusted to us that neither one of us takes for granted.

On a Sunday morning I sit ready to receive from God, as each person sitting in those chairs is there to do. The difference is that I have heard the outline or ideas of the message at the beginning of the week then I hear the message again at the end of the week as he has worked to bring more detail and description to the message.

So after the 9 am service each week, I usually walk out the side door with my husband and he asks the same question, “How was that?” I then share my thoughts and reflection or even notes that I have written down to help bring clarity or even just encouragement to how I felt it was communicated. Over the years, I have not only gained confidence in ministry but I have also gained confidence that my husband is a stronger leader and person with me by his side; doing ministry together.

Be encouraged that you have a place to live out God’s purpose for your life and part of that could be to bring strength to those around you.

“So encourage each other and build each other up, just as you are already doing.”
1 Thessalonians 5:11 (NLT)

Missy

Leave a Reply

