America: The Land of The Offended — by Angel

Offended_Layher“Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace.”  – Ephesians 4:2-3

Good Morning, America. How can we be offended today? This seems to be the new question of the day. Everything and everyone is causing someone, somewhere to be offended about something.

What are your thoughts on, what do you belief about, what do you think about … you can fill in the blanks with a plethora of hot topics. However, you must be cautious in your response, because depending who you are speaking with, they may be ready to pounce on your response with severe offense.

This has me completely baffled. For example, my favorite color is blue and my best friend’s favorite color is purple. We both 100 percent believe our favorite color is the best in the rainbow. We also believe it is OK for the other person to have a different view. A different view does not mean better or worse; it does not indicate any less love of the other person; it does not mean we cannot be friends. It simply means we disagree on one thing. Thank God! How boring the world would be if we all agreed on everything.

Now, somewhere, we the great American people, decided certain topics were considered offensive if not agreed upon. We decided that different opinions equated to hate. Agreeing to disagree no longer seemed like a viable alternative. Obviously, I am NOT referring to crimes (abuse in any form, murder, etc.). My opinion, however on any given topic is just that, my opinion. I have strong beliefs; I have my personal views, ethics, morals and convictions.  These things are once again mine and are between me and God.

My opinion of any given topic is absolutely not important. My view on how things should be, in the grand scheme of life, really mean nothing. What is important is that I am showing love, grace, mercy, kindness and forgiveness to EVERYONE. I am not the judge of anyone on anything. It is not my place, nor my right to tell you if what you are doing is right or wrong. It is my place to love you, share God with you and work on following the commands God has given for my life.

“Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.

“Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye. — Mathew 7:1-5

So, today as a white, Christian, American, working mom, wife, friend, daughter, sister and simply a human, I have one question: Can’t we all just get along?

Angel

Friend Angel on Facebook
Follow Journey Church on Twitter @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

