Thank You, Mari Lee — by Morio

Community_WrayServing around this community, I constantly have my ear to the ground listening to all that is happening in our town. The good, the bad, and the ugly. What I heard a few short weeks ago impacted my personal life like few things ever have.

Mari Becker (12 years young), a little girl from Troy with a HUGE heart, was unexpectedly called Home. So, as I sit here and reflect on the past week, I can’t help but hold my children a little closer as we pray for a dear friend who lost her baby girl.

This tragedy struck a chord in my household due to the fact that my baby girl, Natalee, is in a constant battle with her health, and we never know what tomorrow may bring. So being sensitive to those feelings, I instantly wanted to reach out and console Mari Lee’s family. As I would soon find out, so did a multitude of others. The outpouring of love and the way this community came together to wrap its arms around this grieving family was and is truly overwhelming.

I started to think, what would our community look like if we were ALL IN every day? Why does it take a tragedy to bring us together?

With that being said, I will be the first to say THANK YOU to Mari Lee Becker for being an example to so many! I never had the opportunity to get to know you, but the memories and stories shared by so many inspire me to not only challenge myself, but also our community to go ALL IN and make the world around us a better place just as you did.

Every day we have an opportunity to make a difference in the lives of those around us. I challenge you (insert your name here), to be that catalyst for change in your neighborhood and surrounding area. Go help that elderly neighbor weed her flower bed. Speak a word of encouragement into the life of a struggling teen. Be the person you always wished you had in your own life to someone else.

We are called to share life with one another, let’s make the most of every opportunity.

Morio

Friend Morio on Facebook or follow him on Twitter @thaConsciousOne 
Follow Journey Church on Twitter @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

