I Miss Youth Ministry — by Jesse

YouthCamp_QuirozWe just got back from Youth Camp and let me just say … WOW!  This camp chalks up as one of the better youth camp experiences we’ve ever had.  I don’t want to hijack Pastor Jake’s opportunity to blog about all of the wonderful things that happened this past week at Sky Ranch in Quapaw, Okla., so I will attempt to keep it short and just tell you this – it made me MISS being a youth pastor.

Missy and I were youth pastors and involved in youth ministry for over 10 years. There is nothing like seeing students come to know Christ. There is nothing like seeing students develop in their relationship with Christ. NOTHING! Don’t get me wrong, there can be a lot of drama when you’re dealing with the life of a teenager, but at the end of the day, youth pastors have one of the greatest jobs on the planet.  They get to pastor them.

After you’ve been away from something for a bit, you lose touch with it and many times it consequently ends in you losing passion for whatever it is you’ve been away from.

That was me. I forgot what it felt like being in the thick of youth ministry. I forgot what it felt like being directly involved in the lives of many students. I simply forgot … I miss it … and I’m thankful for the reminder I received this past week.

This past week served to remind me that even though I’m not walking under the banner of being a ‘Youth Pastor’ any longer, that doesn’t disqualify me from the opportunity to proudly walk and march under the banner of YOUTH MINISTRY.  All churches should be CRAZY about youth ministry!

God spoke to my heart in a powerful way this week to ensure that Journey Church surrounds the students that He has given us with our love, our passion, our support and our lives to ensure they know that we are here to see them RISE and become who God created them to be! I know I have the ‘Amen’ of every person who calls Journey their home!

This picture below will end this blog. I took this on Tuesday night and it was for me, one of the more memorable moments when an 11-year-old student prayed in front of his peers at the close of one of the services. He prayed with power, purpose and passion. It was truly impacting … and served to be a passionate reminder of what God’s church should be all about.

YouthCamp2_Quiroz“Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity.” 1 Timothy 4:12

Jesse

Friend Jesse on Facebook or follow him on Twitter @JesseQuiroz

Follow Journey Church on Twitter @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

