WAITING for Daddy’s Little Girl

HavingAGirl1_QuirozExactly seven days ago, I experienced a moment I will never forget for the rest of my life … I’m going to have a DAUGHTER! I can vividly remember the look of the room where we were viewing the sonogram; I can still hear the country music that was strangely playing in the background on a little stereo that served to be soothing background music to this nervous couple as the technician revealed to us the gender of our third child.

The moment I saw the word ‘GIRL’ (as you can see in the image above) typed on the screen, I started to cry. Tears of excitement, thanksgiving and what felt like a thousand emotions filled my eyes as I absorbed the reality of a girl that will one day call me ‘Daddy.’

I’m STOKED, y’all!

I feel like I cannot wait to meet her! I cannot wait to see the look on Missy’s face when she holds her daughter for the first time. I cannot wait for the boys to meet their sister, for our parents to meet their grandchild, for our siblings to meet their niece! I cannot wait for the church to see her! I Cannot Wait. Where’s life’s fast forward button!?

But wait, I must. Waiting is HARD! Waiting requires patience and focus at levels that many of us are not willing to give. It’s not fun to wait because we are people of WANT, and a WANT is a desire that MUST be met in order for it to be satisfied. That’s why waiting feels so unsatisfying. But God has been showing me WHAT I should be doing IN THE WAIT.

“They who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.” Isaiah 40:31

In Scripture, we see that God uses our WAITING for some pretty incredible things, one of them primarily being OUR STRENGTH, which seems to be the focus in the above passage. In prayer, I was reminded of a quote I once read from Charles Stanley who said; ‘Our willingness to wait reveals the value we place on what we’re waiting for.’

I feel like God is reminding me to see and value preparation as important as what it is I’m preparing for. What good would Michael Jordan have been in the NBA Finals without the time he put into his practices? How much preparation is behind those who stand atop Olympic platforms holding gold medals? During the WAIT, we prepare for the GREAT! All greatness REQUIRES waiting and preparation, there’s no escaping it. So, back to what I said in the middle of this blog; But wait, I must!

Aisha Kay Quiroz, I’m waiting for you! And while I wait for the great (which is you), I will be preparing myself as a Dad, practicing my faith as a Father, and doing the absolute best I can in the shoes I have been given to walk this life with, so I can be READY to guide you in the shoes you’ll be given to walk your life with when you arrive into our arms. I love you sweetheart!

HavingAGirl2_QuirozYour Dad is proudly WAITING for you.

Jesse

Friend Jesse on Facebook or follow him on twitter @JesseQuiroz
Follow Journey Church on Twitter @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

