EAT The Word — by Sandy

EatTheWord_MillerI can say without a shadow of any doubt that I LOVE God’s Word. I can’t get enough of it. I can also say with confidence that I have read a bit in every book of the Bible; yet, I have never completely read through the whole Bible, page to page, from Genesis to Revelation.

This year, after being a Christ follower since 1993, I am finally doing it! My family and I, we all are taking the 90-Day Bible Challenge where you read the Good Book beginning to end in, you guessed it … 90 DAYS!

A few weeks ago, Pastor Jesse spoke about keeping the “glow” going after our Easter services. And he challenged us to, “keep our eyes on the pages of the Book.” So each night since April 1, we have dug in and read. And it has been amazing … a blessing, more than just an experience. It is changing us. It is changing me.

One of my favorite verses is in Jeremiah 15:16: “When your words came, I ate them; they were my joy and my heart’s delight, for I bear your name O Lord God Almighty.” This describes my experience. I am gobbling up the stories, the lessons and just the blessing I get from keeping my eyes on the pages.

I have heard many people say they just don’t understand the Bible. For those of you that feel that way, I encourage and challenge you with this — just dig in and start reading. Don’t worry if you don’t understand everything. Pray and ask God for wisdom. That is what Solomon did and it pleased the Lord. And he is still to this day counted as one of the greats in the Bible, just because he asked for wisdom and it “pleased” the Lord. Don’t you think God would count it good if you asked the same?

You can do it; just sit down and eat it up.

Sandy

Friend Sandy on Facebook or follow her on twitter @sandymillerPT
Follow Journey Church on Twitter @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

