Quiet Times — by Missy

QuietTimes_MQuiroz“The quieter you become the more you can hear.”  Ram Dass

For me, as I know it is for you as well, life has been so busy and I struggle many times to find those moments of stillness and peace. I know we can relate to having a life where you never have a moment alone. And I also know we all realize how important quiet times are. To have those moments to reflect on life, to contemplate what decisions need to be made, and getting that peace before we make it.

God really is my strength and I need to be able to lean on Him, and I can’t do that if I don’t get a quiet moment alone with Him. I quickly miss those moments in these busy seasons of life (like right now) but I know I need to dig down deep when I get overwhelmed and make those moments happen because they won’t happen on their own. I also need to seek out his voice to find that guidance.

I love it that this past weekend, which was so timely for my life, Jesse shared about looking to the words of God and how it will lead us where we need to go. So as I sought God out this week Psalms 23 (NLT version) came to my mind. In the beginning of the chapter it says:

The Lord is my shepherd;
I have all that I need.
He lets me rest in green meadows;
he leads me beside peaceful streams.
3  He renews my strength.
He guides me along right paths,
bringing honor to his name.

I realize again as I seek Him out that I can’t let the demands of life run the show and instead I must do what I know needs be done. To do that I need to seek Him each day no matter what and as I do that my life will be ran with God in the driver’s seat … then all the good things will follow that we all want in life. Things like peace, strength and the right path and this in turn will bring honor to His name as it says in Psalm 23.

I’m always thankful for those quiet times that remind me of these things.

Missy

Friend Missy on Facebook or follow Journey Church on Twitter @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

