There Once was a Boy — by Danny

RunDRB_BrooksHave you ever got so caught up in life that you forget who you are? Like you literally forgot you are a human with dreams and preferences. Sometimes we run from work to practice to cleaning to cooking to … cleaning again. We set all our priorities up, but most of the time we forget one important thing — ourselves.

I am not just a ramp agent. I am not just a pastor. I am sports fan. I enjoy video games. I LOVE TO LAUGH, even if it is at myself. I love seeing others dreams come true. One of my favorite moments is being there in the moment when someone realizes … HOLY CRAP I DID IT! That’s the best.

Some days I forget who I am. Some days I feel like just a number. And some days, I just feel normal, and that is one of the worst feelings to me. It is important to stop working sometimes. We need times of fun and care tossing. I need to remind myself sometimes it is OK just to be a boy … I don’t always have to be THE MAN.

I say ‘sometimes’ because you can’t just blow off your responsibilities. You prioritize fun into your schedule. For me right now, that’s Tuesday. On Tuesday I have a couple of things that I get done, but for the most part I try to play video games, watch TV, wrestle my dog and kiss my wife. For some reason society sees free days and relaxing days as lazy and unneeded. Rest, my friends, is not an opinion it is a command.

Exodus 20:8-11

“Remember to observe the Sabbath day by keeping it holy. You have six days each week for your ordinary work, 10 but the seventh day is a Sabbath day of rest dedicated to the Lord your God. On that day no one in your household may do any work. This includes you, your sons and daughters, your male and female servants, your livestock, and any foreigners living among you. 11 For in six days the Lord made the heavens, the earth, the sea, and everything in them; but on the seventh day he rested. That is why the Lord blessed the Sabbath day and set it apart as holy.

Your Sabbath may not be Saturday or Sunday, but make it sometime. There is a reason it is listed in the Ten Commandments. It is a time to recoup and remember. Remember in this crazy busy, messy, professional world that you are still a child of God. Child being the key word here and now.

Please sit back and enjoy something this week. Turn off, disconnect, tune out the professional you and find time for some fun.

Danny

Dan Brooks on Facebook or follow him/her on twitter @00brooksy
Follow Journey Church on Twitter @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

