The UNKNOWN — by Missy

Unknown_MQuirozIt has been the promises from God that have pulled me through life. It’s what’s given me the courage to face the tough times as they come. I look back at the moment in 2009 when God spoke to us about moving to Missouri. All we knew was that we were to start a church. Everything else was uncertain.

This past weekend at Journey, we watched the Kimbrells (our associate pastors) take a similar step into ‘the unknown’ as they are headed off to plant a church in Collinsville, IL. Seeing this has brought back a flood of memories in what our family did and resurfaced those feelings of discomfort in not knowing what is right around the corner. Yet knowing you cannot ignore God’s pull to the unknown.

If you are willing and open, God may ask you to do things that require more than you have inside of yourself. Yet, He knows that and without fail gives you all the help you need. For me, it was a promise that He gave me in Ohio before we moved to our ‘unknown’. It was a Chapter in the bible that had never stood out to me before, but I was led to it one morning as I was praying for our next steps. To this day it is a chapter that has been a rock I lean on when my faith is wavering or when I feel incapable of handling all God has given us. The verses in this particular chapter helped me to press in to find everything I needed for our next ‘chapter’ of our lives.

I’ll share my favorite part of Psalm 91, which is a promise that rings true for all of us, verses 14-16.

The Lord says, “I will rescue those who love me.
I will protect those who trust in my name.
 When they call on me, I will answer;
I will be with them in trouble.
I will rescue and honor them.
I will reward them with a long life
and give them my salvation.”

Missy

Friend Missy on Facebook or follow Journey Church on Twitter @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

