Masked Emotions — by Tim

Batman_OverstreetI have always been fascinated with human emotions – crying, fear, laughing, loving, caring, loss, disappointment, pain, happiness, joyful and even the simple contagious smile. The one thing we all have in common is we all have experienced these emotions and even more not mentioned. So how do we react to them outwardly?

Emotion: a conscious mental reaction (as anger or fear) subjectively experienced as strong feeling usually directed toward a specific object and typically accompanied by physiological and behavioral changes in the body.

As a kid, I learned early on to mask my emotions. I would hide my pain or happiness inward so the outside world wouldn’t know what was going on in my mind. I just assumed everyone did this. Later on down the road, I realized that I wasn’t Batman and I didn’t need to wear my “mask.”

It’s funny how the mindsets we adopt as kids take a lifetime to break. One of the most impactful things I saw as a kid was my Dad on his hands and knees praying with tears running down his face; I have always wondered what he was praying about. Even though I saw my Dad crying while he prayed, somehow in my mind, I started to believe crying showed that you were weak; was I ever wrong. Crying is an emotion that I am learning to embrace. There is something so freeing by letting out years of built-up tears.

You might be asking yourself … why the heck is Tim sharing all of this? Here is why: I have spent years of my life hiding my emotions, masking my emotions and by doing that, I have created my own prison. Recently, I have been taking that mask off. I want the world to know how I feel, and that’s totally OK.

I want to be able walk up to a stranger and be able to relay how much I care and love them without holding back showing them the love of Christ. I don’t want to be held back by an emotional mask; I am free and you are, too. The Bible tells us this as a reminder throughout the whole New Testament.

Read this and have your mind blown — John 8:36

To feel is to love, and to love is to live.

Tim

Friend Tim on Facebook or follow him on Twitter @timoverstreet1
Follow Journey Church on Twitter @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

