The Little Things — by Jesse

LittleThings_JQuirozThere’s a quote I love, spoken by the wise and greatly respected Winnie The Pooh: “Sometimes the smallest things take up the most room in your heart.”

This picture is a gift I recently received from a member of our congregation. It measures no taller than 3 inches tall and 5 inches wide, and rests at a lean on my desk in my home office. It catches my eye every day and every time it does, the message on it impacts me in ways that cannot be measured.

Pastoring this church is a blessing, a ridiculous-sized BLESSING! The opportunity I am given by God to impact people for HIS glory and HIS Kingdom continues to astound me. It’s indescribable.

But … (insert long pause) … with BIG BLESSING comes BIG RESPONSIBILITY. Right? It’s that whole Luke 12:48 verse, ‘When someone has been given much, much will be required.’

Several times I have found myself overwhelmed with the responsibilities with what has been given to me. And in those times … I stress, I worry, I doubt, I freak out and wonder if I am able to do this, if I am the one to do this. I’m not alone in this, right? Surely you understand what I’m talking about in parallel to the demands on your life, too.

I think we all experience this battle with our abilities in times of great responsibility. We so often put our eyes on the BIG PICTURE that’s in front of us and wonder how and if it can even be done.

When I received that little gift above a few months back, I was in one of those stressful seasons … experiencing all of the challenge that comes with them. And the moment I pulled that out of the gift bag, I looked at the message on it and immediately fought tears. I needed to see that. I needed to know that. I needed to remember that. It’s a scripture that I’ve preached a hundred times, but it was like I was looking at it for the first time. It’s funny how a little gift like that in a split second moved big stresses out of my heart.

I don’t know what this little gift cost the person who felt compelled to buy it for me, but I can say that the impact it has made on me is priceless. Absolutely priceless. And for that, I’m thankful. It encouraged me to open my eyes up to see the value in the little things. Be encouraged to ‘encourage’ someone around your life with a ‘small’ gift. It may be a little picture frame you can pick up at a Christian bookstore for a few bucks, it may be cup of coffee or it may even be a simple compliment.

Whatever it is, it can serve to brighten up someone’s day that to them may be pretty dark at the moment.

1 Thessalonians 5:11
“Therefore encourage one another and build one another up…

Jesse

Friend Jesse on Facebook or follow him on twitter @JesseQuiroz
Follow Journey Church on Twitter @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

