New Year Renewal — by Missy

NewYear_MQuirozBeginning the New Year is always great; I see it as a time to begin again, to renew old goals and even make new ones. Our family did something we had never done before at the beginning of the year. We set goals for our personal lives. To kick it off, we talked about how setting goals for our lives is an important thing, and then we all found a quiet place to pray and write down the goals we felt God was giving each of us this year.

It was so refreshing to see my kids write down goals that challenged their lives and to see how God-focused they were. I was challenged by them for my own life.

Out of that time, we also made a goal to have a weekly devotion time where we would all take turns sharing during one of our family nights. The first one came from Javan (our youngest son), who shared from Philippians 2:3-5, speaking on the importance of eliminating pride and conceit from our lives. The next week, Micah (our oldest son) talked about respecting each other. He explained that when you don’t respect someone, you aren’t valuing that person, the very person that Jesus was willing to die for.

At one point, Jesse and I looked at each other and couldn’t believe what we were hearing. They both shared with such depth and understanding, I was blown away. I realized in each of these moments that there are times I underestimate the capabilities that my kids have. God wants to stretch them and grow them, just like he does me in my life.

We have just begun this for our family, and I would challenge you as the New Year begins, to take the time and create moments that will stretch you, and if you have kids, stretch them, too. We all can do and accomplish more than we think. So set goals that you can’t accomplish on your own, that are going to require you to dig in, work hard or pray a lot for, you just might be amazed at what you can actually accomplish with God.

Using the verse, (one that my boys loved to memorize since it was so short) Luke 1:37 “Nothing is impossible with God.”

We are praying for a great 2015 for you and your family!

Missy

Leave a Reply

