I’m Not Supposed to be Here — by Jake

StandUp_LawrenceI sometimes feel like Mike Donnelly.

Mike Donnelly is a character played by Chris Farley in the 1996 movie Black Sheep. (Look it up on Netflix, kids.) There’s a classic scene where Mike is thrust onto a stage in front of a large crowd and then expected to give a campaign speech. The problem, though, is that Mike is not in a campaign and this speech is not his to give. Nonetheless, he finds himself center stage with all attention put on him and his opening line is “Uh, I’m not supposed to be here.”

There have been many times in my own life where I’ve said those same words to myself. To be honest, a lot of times it stemmed from a lack of confidence. Particularly in the last few years, I have found myself in situations and positions that I would have never expected. I’ve played roles that I would have run from in the past.

For example, being asked to lead a junior high youth group? The one of your pastors’ own kids will be in? Where they can/will be reporting every last detail of what I said in a message every week? That was a weird one to say yes to. In the past four years of being a part of the Journey Youth, I found myself in front of a room of teenagers thinking, “I’m not supposed to be here.”

But, even at 33, I continue to mature and grow in confidence of who I am as a person. I am beginning to see that as I am obedient to the direction God is leading me, my way of thinking changes. Those thoughts of not being up to the task I’m given are replaced by ideas of what can be learned from it.

Now I try to take advantage of every opportunity that comes my way. Mike Donnelly ended up taking full control of that crowd with a raucous speech that, even though it was filled with gibberish, had those people eating from his hand. So, OWN the chances you are given. You will soon enough find yourself exactly where you’re supposed to be.

Jake

Friend Jake on Facebook or follow him on twitter @cjakelawrence
Follow Journey Church on Twitter @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

