Closing Time — by Tim

BarStool_OverstreetIt is late at night and you are in a store shopping, and then you hear over the intercom: ”We will be closing in 15 minutes. Please make your way to the front of the store for check out.” The first thought that goes through your mind is “Ah, I have time; no need to rush.” Five minutes later over the intercom: “We will be closing in 10 minutes. Please make your way to the front of the store for check out.”

Now you’re feeling a little panicky as you realize you still need something on the other side of the store … Crud!

So while you walk to the other side of the store you hear: “We will be closing in five minutes. Please make your way to the front of the store for check out.” How are we all doing at this point? I personally am freaking out because I don’t want to cause the employees to stay late. So what do I do? Well, I grab what I think I need run to the front of the store, check out, get in my truck and head home. That’s when I realize I made an impulse buy and not a smart one.

I think we do this in our lives especially during this time of year. We are feeling the pressure and it’s not just a little bit; the pressure gradually builds and builds and builds until you make that rash impulsive decision. I don’t have a magic answer that will fix this problem for all of us. However, I think we do it to ourselves. We are the ones that don’t take the time to think things through our decisions. Whether that decision is an extra piece of cheesecake after a huge turkey meal or should I flip this idiot driver off in the Walmart parking lot, our response is key.

Check this out in James 1:19 … “My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry … “

Slow down this year. Relax and if the store is closing and start heading to the front for checkout when the first announcement comes on over the intercom. Enjoy the holiday, but don’t be destroyed by them.

Merry Christmas.

Tim

Leave a Reply

