Living with your Baby Blankie — by Jamie

BabyBlankie_WrayWhen I was a baby, my great grandmother made me a baby blanket. As a child, I drug this blanket around like Linus off of Charlie Brown. And to this day, not one night passes that the blanket is not under my head when I sleep.

If you are like my husband, you think this is weird. No grown person should still sleep with their baby blanket. But it’s what I am used to; it’s the only way I know to sleep. It’s something that has been with me for my entire life. It’s more of a habit then anything.

I have begun to see that every one of us has these habits that we carry around with us. They are things we do just because we have always done them. (Yes, I know not everyone carries around their baby blanket, but you get the point.)

I can only write on the right side of a notebook. There is nothing wrong with the paper on the left side; I just can’t do it. It’s something I have just always done. I cook a certain way because it’s what I have always done; it’s the way my family taught me. These are some very small examples but my point is that we all have or do something just because we have always done it.

But how do we meet our true potential in life just doing the same thing that we have always done? Won’t we just end up with the same results that we have always gotten? Be stuck in the same situation? What is even worse to think about is what if we don’t even realize what we are doing. We pray and ask God for his blessing and his mercy … to speak to us and tell us what we need to do … but we don’t look to ourselves for any of that answer.

We all get stuck, and we all go through hard times in life and we need God to get through those hard times. But you can’t get through and truly experience something better until you let go of your security blanket. Stop living in the past and holding onto old habits and hurts. Make a choice to intentionally go after something new and never done before. No matter what that is. It may be getting rid of some old friends or talking to your kids in a different way. It may mean that you finally apologize to someone you hurt a long time ago.

Whatever it is that you need to let go of, I pray you are able to do it. I hope you share with me the freedom that came when you let “it” go. And also how God honored your life through the choices you made.

Praying for you and your Journey to live like you never have before.

Jamie

Friend Jamie on Facebook or follow Journey Church on Twitter @ Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

