I Need a Mentor — by Jesse

NeedAMentor_QuirozI think I’ve said this before but I’ll say it again … everyone needs a mentor, someone who personally takes the time, effort and energy to help place in you the tools needed to reach the goals that God has placed in all of our hearts to see come to reality in our lives. Someone who can lead you … and someone you can follow. I’m so thankful for the people in my life who do that for me.

The guy in the pic above is one of those people and one of my favorite people on this earth outside of those in my family – but I’ve known him for so long – he basically IS family. I first met Steve & Brenda Lummer and their family in 1994, and I immediately felt a connection to the sincerity that was in their lives toward people; I ended up attending their church in 1996 where I volunteered in any area I could and their role in my life really begin to take shape.

Through a variety of miraculous situations (which would take hours to describe … just ask anyone who’s heard me preach those stories (haha), they hired Missy and I as their youth pastors in 1999. I couldn’t be more thankful for the opportunity they gave me as I worked full-time for them and with them for eight incredible years.

Leaving the Lummers to head to Ohio (where I served on staff at a church for two years before pastoring Journey) was one of the most difficult things I’ve ever done. They had done so much for me and not to mention my family (they were there for the births of both of my sons and dedicated them both), they served as the one of the most beautiful examples of marriage that could be shown to Missy and I. And not to mention one of the greatest examples of parents I’ve ever met (and that’s saying a lot – they’re pastors) who raised two amazing kids who I think are among the coolest people on the planet.

They will always be my pastors, my mentors in life and I consider myself to be one of the most fortunate people to say that. The investment they’ve placed in me is not possible to describe.

One thing I do know for certain: Journey Church wouldn’t exist without that man because following him has guided me to be the person I am today. That is just one of the reasons I invite him and his wife to join us at every anniversary we experience at Journey. Our church is incredibly blessed by them.

Wow. I’m thankful for the people God puts in front of us to follow.

Jesse

Friend Jesse on Facebook or follow him on twitter @JesseAQuiroz
Follow Journey Church on Twitter @Journey_MO

One thought on “I Need a Mentor — by Jesse

  1. we are all called to mentor, in that we can build relationships with others who are not christians, and mentor them in the way in which they should walk with Christ. We must also guide and encourage (mentor) each other in the faith!

Leave a Reply

