Men of Honor — by Steve

Momentum_GroupREV_MillerWith the advent of Veteran’s Day each year, I am reminded of all the heroes in my life … military and civilian alike. Many of us take a few minutes to reflect on those who have made our lives possible, impacted us in significant ways and maybe even think of those who are no longer with us. It is good to hit the pause button on life and take measure of who we are, how we got there and where we are going.

It was within those moments of quiet reflection that God reminded me of the incredible opportunity he afforded me recently – taking a group of incredible men on a journey closer to his heart at MoMentum. It was during this men’s retreat at Life Action Camp in Michigan that He impressed upon many of our hearts new levels of His plan, purpose and power.

The camp setting and staff were incredible as always. Tom Harmon brought his always-poignant messages from the heart of God that broke down walls, invited us into new understanding and had us splitting our sides in laughter. But the thing I will remember most from this year’s MoMentum is the bonds that were built BETWEEEN the men.

This was the third year we’ve taken a group of guys to men’s retreat, and every year is great. But this year was just … different. It’s hard to explain. But every man that went says the same thing. The spirit we felt and the connections we made were powerful. Various quotes from the fellas during our late-night sharing session capture it the best: “I’ve never been a part of anything like this before.” “This is what it is supposed to look like, feel like.” “Thanks for inviting me to be a part of this. This is what I’ve been looking for.” “For the first time in a long time, maybe ever, I feel like I can be myself and that it is OK to fail.”

To the Men of Honor that I had the pleasure of joining at camp, I say thank you. Never forget that you are not alone. And God made you with a vision and a purpose that only you can fulfill. Grab onto it and never let go.

Humility. Integrity. Spirit.
We are H-I-S.
We are The CREW.

Steve

Friend Steve on Facebook or follow him on twitter @stevemiller31
Follow Journey Church on Twitter @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

