Sex Sells — by Tim

SexyBurger_OverstreetWhat?! I know what you’re thinking. Why in the world is Tim talking about sex?

There is one thing I know for sure as a human man, and that is that women are attractive … end of story.

I think it’s crazy how most church cultures suppress the subject of Sex. It is literally the one subject everyone from young to old, atheist, to even yes Christians thinks about … SEX! It is everywhere — video games, TV commercials, magazine racks (and I’m not talking about that kind of magazine rack), billboards, store ads, restaurant ads, the local Sunday paper, social media, and of course, the internet.

I was over at a friend’s house recently watching a ball game when a commercial came on. I instantly wanted a burger and for some reason I remember thinking I should be at a beach. All that popped into my mind before I could look away. I remember thinking, ‘What the heck? I can’t even watch the game without having an ad come across the screen that perverts the eating of a large burger. And I like burgers!’

One thing I think the majority of churches fail at is teaching about sex. There is a whole book of the Bible that is filled with intimate poetry; I don’t think God thinks sex is bad (in the context of marriage). I grew up being told, “Don’t have sex until you’re married because it’s wrong.” My question was why?

The answer: It’s in the Bible, that’s why! I believe the subject is skirted around because of the level of unease that occurs during the “sex talk.” I feel weird right now! If we Christians were to set the example in how we date, what we watch, how we talk and even educating our youth on what healthy relationships look like, how do you think that would affect the world view of sex? As Christians, we need to do life better than world.

1 Corinthians 6:13-20

Because I was never really given a clear cut answer on why you shouldn’t have sex outside of marriage, I wanted to give you one so here goes … save your everything for your someone, don’t cut your heart on purpose, the pain you will experience from doing something you regret will far outweigh the uncomfortable feeling from waiting.

(If you’re a single dude, I suggest you “Every Man’s Battle.” And for the married guys, you should read it with your wife. You’ll be glad you did.)

Tim

Friend Tim on Facebook or follow him on twitter @timoverstreet1

Follow Journey Church on Twitter @Journey_MO

Leave a comment