Keep Your Butt in the Seat! — by Jesse

BuschStadium_QuirozWell, it’s THAT time of year again – THE POST-SEASON! Baseball in St. Louis is an unparalleled phenom – this city has a rich history of America’s Favorite Pastime and we love our Red Birds. Friday marks our post-season opener against the heavily-favored LA Dodgers (at least according to the media). But as we do annually, we will look into the face of adversity and do our best to march on to our 12th World Championship!

I don’t know what it is that makes us LOVE this game. I mean, it’s a game where you don’t witness much continuous action. The Wall Street Journal recently put an article out that stated ‘a baseball fan will see 17 minutes and 58 seconds of action over the course of a three-hour game.’

But nonetheless, we are CRAZY about it! I took this picture about two weeks ago. We were playing the Brewers, and the entire game was virtually hitless, the score was 0-0 until the bottom of the 9th when Yadi cranked one over 2nd base and brought in the game-winning run! We watched 3 ½ hours of base-less baseball waiting for that moment. What’s interesting is until that moment, hardly anyone left the ballpark, because we were waiting for our Cards to come through for us … and they did!

There’s a parallel in Christianity that challenges me. It really challenges me, actually. I think sometimes I express more patience and faith in my baseball team than I do the Creator of the world, at least when it comes to my life.

How many times do I leave ‘the game’ early with God? What situations do I just get straight up impatient with Him on where I just quit waiting and leave?

I ask that question because many times (at least with my life) God comes through for me in the 9th inning of my situation … right at the very end ‘of the game.’ And without fail, as long as I’m still there, He pulls through. But I forget that sometimes, and I need to remember that my faithfulness is key to the victories God has for my life.

Galatians 6:9 (ESV) says, “And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.”

I know a baseball game may be a corny way to point out the important of our attendance in the game of perseverance and faithfulness … but hey, it’s October in St. Louis. What better way to make the point?!

Stay in the seat, or as the blog title suggests, KEEP YOUR BUTT IN THE SEAT. God will come through. He ALWAYS does! J

Jesse

Friend Jesse on Facebook or follow him on twitter @JesseQuiroz

Follow Journey Church on Twitter @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

