Fight The Urge — by Tim

Woody_OverstreetI recently asked a question to some close friends. “Do you ever have the urge to do the things you use to do before accepting Christ?”

Before I started my relationship with Jesus (and even shortly after I did), I didn’t strive to be Christ-like. Sure, I went to church on Sunday and listened closely, looking for a magical line from the pastor to make me all better. But during the week nothing really changed, and I would forget what I heard and never put it into practice. I still acted the same way as I had before, except now I told people I went to church.

Here’s the reason for my question. I was out fishing with a couple buddies recently, and while heading back to the dock I saw a boat filled with beautiful women, beer and a few guys with grins from ear to ear. I immediately thought … dang that looks like fun! Now I’m not saying that drinking beer on the lake is wrong, but something inside of me said these folks were going to get wasted … and it looked fun.

I had to make a choice. I wouldn’t let a pack of wolfs eat me up without a fight so why would I let my mind do the same. What did I have to do? Tackle one thing at a time, put my faith into action, isolate the things distracting me and install all of it into my life. I had to break away from my old friends until I was strong enough to resist my old ways; I had to stop going to bars because that was a struggle for me. I had to turn a 180.

Romans 12:2 (NLT) says this: “This is truly the way to worship him. Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.”

Until you start fighting the urges to do wrong, you will continue to do wrong. Here is the cool thing: you’re not alone in your fight. Learn to lean on your brothers and sisters in Christ. I had three brothers with me that day, and we talked about my thought. So I asked if they had the same urge; two of them said no, but admitted that it has taken a while to get to that point. The third guy … well, he was in the lake swimming for the boat. (Just kidding!)

We are on a journey in life together. Let’s do this!

Tim

Friend Tim on Facebook or follow him on twitter @timoverstreet1

Follow Journey Church on Twitter @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

