Along Came a Spider — by Danny

AlongCameSpider_BrooksDo you ever feel like the weak link? Do you feel like God has a plan for you, but you are just not seeing it come to fruition? Yeah, as I sat on the Eleven Point River’s Boze Mill Dam earlier this summer, I was having that same feeling. (Here’s my earlier blog from Boze Mill.)

Here I am with some guys that are tearing it up in the world, and I just feel like I am spinning my wheels. Steve Lummer, pastoring an awesome church in Arizona, the land where dreams come true; Steve Miller, who had just quit his job to become our operations manager and is helping take Journey Church to a level I can’t even comprehend; Tim Overstreet, who had just slayed another worship set at Journey One; and Jesse Quiroz, whose vision and heart are something I strive to emulate.

So here I am having my own pity party … and then God speaks to my heart.

He says, “look up, bro,” and there she was. I hate spiders (got bit by a brown recluse last year) and this spider was just hanging out on this broke limb spinning her web. She worked from the edges then went to the middle swung back down to the edge and repeated. God said, “Danny, you are like this spider. If you will keep connecting the dots as this spider does and your dreams will be realized.”

The spider starts with a single piece of web and puts in work until the finished product is there. As I watched this spider I was blown away as the beautiful web began to take shape. Our dreams are the same way; sometimes they pop up and happen right in front of your face. Sometimes it looks like you go backwards before you move forward. God is not in the business of planting seeds and walking away. He is by our side every step of the way, glorious or not.

This spider is on a broken limb hanging over a gushing spring, yet she works with the confidence of knowing her web will be finished, will be gorgeous and will be her masterpiece. We, however, sometimes give in at the first sign of an obstacle and use excuses like, “I guess it’s not meant to be.” Maybe it is meant to be! Maybe sometimes we need to fight for our dreams! Maybe you should get up and try again! Never give up on a dream He has placed in your heart. If this spider can defeat the odds so can I and so can you.

Matthew 6:26, 33

26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?

33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.

Danny

Friend Dan on Facebook or follow him on Twitter @00brooksy

Follow Journey Church on Twitter @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

