Dating Done Right — by Tim

Dating_OverstreetHave any single people ever asked, when is it my turn? As Christians, what should dating look like?

Let’s start with a little back story on me. I married at a young age and divorced less than three years later. In the six years since my divorce, I have learned a great deal about how to date biblically.

I have learned what I am looking for and what I won’t settle for. I don’t think God wants us to be in miserable relationships, and I know I don’t want to be in one. In Ecclesiastes, it talks about how there is a season and a time for every matter under heaven. I believe finding a spouse is probably one of those things under heaven.

So now that I know what I am looking for in a spouse why isn’t God handing her over to me on a golden platter? If there is one thing I have learned in my life it is that timing is everything. I would much rather wait until I am 40 to find that special woman than to rush it and end up with a spouse that I regret marrying. Let’s get real … I hope to God I find her before then, but if I don’t I’m OK with that. Not saying there won’t be heated prayer times with God though …

Do you ever think to yourself the maybe you’ve already missed out? Don’t. That’s a bunch of bull. I am not going to buy into that lie and neither should you. If God has given you a desire for a spouse then He has someone for you out there. If there is one thing I want to get across in this blog it is this: don’t beat yourself up. Don’t you dare for one second think to yourself you’re not wanted. Maybe God’s plan is bigger than your plan. Maybe, just maybe, tomorrow you’re going to meet your future.

I know it’s not easy to wait. Heck, I don’t think any of us wanted to wait until Christmas to open gifts when we were kids. I didn’t. You’re not alone single person.

Let’s do this right with Biblical values in our dating … with respect and integrity. God will reward you for that. Let’s be happy and praise God for whatever season we are in right now.

Tim

Friend Tim on Facebook or follow him on Twitter @timoverstreet1

Follow Journey Church on Twitter @Journey_MO

Leave a Reply

