Turning 30 — by Jamie

JamieGrace1_WrayI turn 30 years  old today, Aug. 7. Most people love their birthday and like to celebrate in lavish ways, and I have been told that turning 30 is “a big one” and “you should make a big deal out of it.” But birthdays have always seemed like just another day to me.

For the most part, I feel the same way about the ‘BIG 3-0,’ except for one very important part …

When I was 16, I gave birth to my beautiful baby girl, Grace. From the moment I held her in my arms, I felt like I was no longer a kid anymore. When Grace was only a few weeks old I told my mother that I felt like “I was 30.” Gone were days of school sports, parties, friends and any thoughts of being selfish.

Please don’t JamieGrace2_Wraymistake what I am saying. I was happy to give up all of my ‘kid stuff’ and be a mommy to one of the most amazing girls ever! But I always felt older than I actually was.

So, today I am happy to say that I am finally as old as I have always felt and still the mother to the best girl in the world. Thank you, Grace, for an amazing 13 years and the joy of being 30.

Jamie

Leave a Reply

