Jumping on the Bandwagon — by Jesse

As I was writinUSA Soccer World Cupg this blog yesterday, the U.S. was battling Belgium in Round of 16 in the 2014 World Cup … and I have to admit, I’m becoming a fan and I kind of like it. But to others, I’m simply jumping on the bandwagon.

I’m noticing a trend on social media from ‘die-hard’ soccer fans that are ripping ANYONE who is showing support for Team USA that haven’t been displaying support since before the World Cup started. Almost to say, “if you haven’t been with us since the beginning, don’t bother being with us now.”

I’ve not really been into soccer that much (outside of playing it recreationally every now and then). But, in my quest to become a fan, I’m finding that it’s easy to be turned off altogether by the staunch pride shown to us ‘newbies’ from the ‘die-hards’. I just wish ANY interest shown by ANYONE would be celebrated.

Let me twist this silly perception into a spiritual point. As someone who has been following God and serving in the church for nearly 21 years, I wonder if that’s how people outside of the church perceive me … in a church context. I hope I’m not looked at or come off as a die-hard church goer that lives in my clique of other die-hard church goers. As if to say … “if you’ve not been with us since the beginning, then don’t bother being with us now!” It is unfortunate that this is a trend in America – that there are a lot of people sitting on the fringe, expressing interest in our churches, but we are not celebrating, welcoming, or attracting those interests.

I don’t want to be that ‘die-hard’ dude. I want to welcome ANYONE with ANY INTEREST at ANYTIME at ANY PLACE – even to those perceived to be the bandwagoners. COME ON! BRING IT! Let’s be GREAT examples and witnesses to our world.

1 Thessalonians 5:11

Therefore encourage one another and build one another up, just as you are doing

Jesse

Leave a Reply

