Grumbly — by Angel

Don’t use foul or abusive language. Let everything you say be good and helpful, so that your words will be an encouragement to those who hear them. And do not bring sorrow to God’s Holy Spirit by the way you live. Remember, he has identified you as his own. guaranteeing that you will be saved on the day of redemption. Get rid of all bitterness, rage anger, harsh words, and slander as well as all types of evil behavior. Instead, be kind to each other, tender-hearted, forgiving one another, just as God through Christ has forgiven you.”   Ephesians 4:29-32

This is absolutely one of my favorite places in God’s word.  I find myself repeating this to myself a lot.  As a society it is so easy to be  grumbly.  We complain or grumble about almost everything.  The weather is too cold, too hot, too rainy. I have to go to work/school.  Traffic is too slow, that guy is driving to fast. That person is rude, this person is offensive, that guy annoys me, that girl looked at me mean.  Are we ever really satisfied with anything? There are times when things just do not go our way and we have the right to be annoyed with it, however is being in a negative mood or grumbly (with or without reason) getting you anywhere??  I saw a quote the other day (I LOVE quotes) that said “you should laugh everyday, not to add years to your life but to add life to your years”.  This is so true.  If we could just find more times to laugh versus grumble, we would be so much happier.

I love being around people who are generally happy.  They just lift the mood of the room.  A smile really is a beautiful thing on anyone.  But, have you been around that person that just wants to grumble, I find it so hard not to get crabby with them. The whole “misery loves company” is true too.

I know I find myself being grumbly and that is when I try really hard to remind myself Ephesians 4:29 but overall I really do strive to encourage those around me and find the happy in all situations.  I mean seriously, does complaining about the cold make it any less cold? Does being angry or crabby about the people you have to deal with at work or school make dealing with them any easier??

The older I get the more I discover it is better to just say a prayer for them and yourself and then move forward.  Show love, show grace, show patience, show understanding, and then put a smile on and go be the happy in another persons life.  When we put our focus on being happy for others we can easily forget to grumble about our own “issues”.

My challenge to each person reading this and to myself is try to say only positive things for 24 hours.  No complaints, no grumbles, no bad looks, no under your breath sighs, or aggravated thoughts that harbor more anger.  Just turn every situation into a good thought.  Read Ephesians 4:29, take a walk, say a prayer, do whatever you need to do (and sometimes that is to simply say nothing at all) just allow yourself a full day of smiles, laughter and happiness.

Maybe if we each took the time to get rid of some grumbles we could make our little part of the world a happier place to be.

Have a FabTabolous day friends!!!

Leave a Reply

