11 Years — by Kory

Wedding Day

11 years ago today, I was running behind.  11 years ago today, I was in waaay over my head.  11 years ago today, I pretended to be confident even though I had no idea what I was doing.  11 years ago today, I choked back the unexpected emotion and tears that came as I watched the most beautiful woman I had ever laid eyes on walk down the aisle to say, “I do.”  She is every bit as beautiful, even more so, than that day 11 years ago.  And I am every bit as choked-up now just thinking about that day as I was then.

Little did I know, she and I were heading out on an adventure together that would lead us where we are now and who knows where in the future.  Little did I know, we would be blessed with two AMAZING children that I feel have helped me grow as much as I’ve helped them.  Shhh!  Don’t tell them that yet.  I don’t want them to get a big head about it.  I’ve watched my wife live out Christ’s love in our marriage.  She’s shown incredible patience (even though she doesn’t think of herself as a patient person). She’s been tough on me when I needed it, stubborn enough to keep loving me even when I didn’t “deserve” it, and persevered with me through some of our toughest times.

Us

I couldn’t explain back then to anyone why I proposed to Amy after only knowing her for 2 weeks (less than that actually).  I’m sure she couldn’t explain why she said, “yes.”  Maybe we would both have an equally difficult time explaining it now…I don’t know.  What I do believe is that God may have just been showing off when he brought us together.  It’s like, “Look, I’m going to take this hot-headed, selfish, outgoing young man and put him together with this sweet, stubborn, extremely shy young lady and they aren’t going to damage one another.  In fact, they are going to make each other better.  Just watch!”  I love that I have no explanation, other than God, for this working like it does.  I love that we are still just a couple of kids in love and determined to love each other through our weakness, through our imperfection, and leaning on the perfect love of Christ as our example to follow.

To our next 11 years, Mrs. KimBRELL…

Me

Leave a Reply

