Being a Dad — by Kory

Baptize Zoe

So I’m going to say something that most of you have heard before or you know to be true for yourself; “Being a parent is the most challenging and rewarding experience you could ever have.”  When I was growing up I knew I wanted to be a dad.  There was never a question in my mind if I wanted to have kids or not.  It was just something I knew I HAD to do one day.  Never mind the fact I didn’t really know how to be a dad.  I just knew that one day when I had kids I would love them with everything I have, protect them with my life, and do everything I could to make sure they know they are loved.

I married my beautiful bride on February 8, 2003 and God blessed us with our first child on May 4, 2005.  Now, I fully expected to have a boy.  Nearly every first-born that comes to mind on my dad’s side of the family was a boy.  So you can imagine my surprise when the ultrasound showed we were having a girl.  I thought to myself, “What am I going to do with a little girl?”  God gave me my answer, “You’re going to love her.”  So, 8 ½ years ago Zoe Grace was born and He was right.  I love this little girl.

IMG_0563

She has no idea, even though I’ve tried to tell her several times, how she taught me so much about who God is and how much he loves and cares for us.  When Zoe was born, I began to understand the unconditional love that God has for us.  We are His children, right?  I knew there was nothing this little girl could ever do that would make me not love her, or not want what’s best for her.  There’s nothing I wouldn’t do to show her that she is loved and that I want what is best for her; even if that means “bringing correction” in its various forms.

All of these things revealed to me who God is and who I am to Him.  Those of you who have kids know exactly what I’m talking about.  Those of you who do not yet have kids, I pray someday that you do, so you can get a deeper reveal of how much God loves you.  Remember those three things I mentioned above, that I knew before I had kids?  I would love them with everything I have, protect them with my life, and do everything I could to make sure they know they are loved?  Well, God does all of these things.  He has done everything to make sure we know we are loved.  He has laid down His life; sacrificed everything to be with us.  He brings correction and challenge to build our character and in an effort to keep us safe from the enemy.  He is the perfect father.  And though I’m not the perfect father, I do the best I can to point my children in the direction of the One who is.

Blessings…

Kory

Leave a Reply

