We Are All Time Travelers — by Kory

 

 

back_to_the_future_poster_01

It’s no secret to those who know me that my favorite movie ever is “Back to the Future.”  I think I’ve watched that movie more than any other.  A simple Google search reveals an excessive amount of movies about time travel.  Based on the success of such movies, I believe it’s safe to say that we as Americans have a fascination with time travel.

Who hasn’t imagined going back in time to see some historical event or right a wrong from their past?  Maybe it’s a curiosity that sparks the question of, “What would my life be like now if ‘this’ life event had gone down differently?”  I’m sure a majority of us at one time or another has thought about what it might be like to travel into the future to see what our lives will be like or to see what kind of conveniences will be afforded to us through the advancement of technology.

We have all given thought to our future.  In fact, I know I spent a lot of time as a teenager imagining the future; how many kids I would have, what my occupation would be, where I’d live, who my wife would be, etc.  This is the conclusion I’ve come to: “We are all time-travelers.”  But we can’t go back, we can only travel forward.  We are living in the future we once dreamed about, talked about, wondered about, and planned for.  The question is, “does it look like the future we imagined or wanted?”  If not, why?

I know what my thoughts, ideas, and plans for the future were back in the day.  And as I saw every plan I had fall through, the more I had to rely less on myself and lean more and more on the Creator of time.  The more I learned about Him, the more I learned about me because He made me.  There’s this song lyric that goes like this, “I know who goes before me. I know who stands behind.  The God of angel armies is always by my side.”  The fact is God was there when the plans I had in my heart were being made.  But He has gone ahead of me, ahead of us, and knows what’s best for us.  He knows better than we or anyone else could.  Proverbs 19:21 NIV says, “Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.”

I can honestly say that when I began to match my plans to God’s purpose for my life, my future began to take shape.  Proverbs 16:3 was a verse that I looked at every day for 4 years, “Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and He will establish your plans.”  It’s so true.  And if I’m being completely honest the future I had planned; that I had imagined pales in comparison to the life I have now that God has blessed me with.  The family I have is above and beyond what I imagined.  My wife is so beautiful, caring, honest, and supportive. My son, so strong, handsome, full of passion and energy, and is so much like me it is scary (literally it scares me).  My daughter also beautiful, thoughtful, smart, determined and creative.  Not to mention the unofficially adopted son that calls our house home when he’s in town that Amy and I are privileged to know and see grow and mature.  I could go on and on.  My purpose is clear and my future is secure in Christ.  Friends, I want to encourage you to begin to place your plans inside the purpose God has for you and commit everything you do to God and your plans will succeed, because you are putting your faith in the hands of the creator of time that we are all traveling in.

Blessings…

Leave a Reply

