Weekend Review — by Tim

Wow my heart feels like it just got beat up by a meat tenderizer! So many thoughts are racing through my mind right now.

 

 

wentz

#1 The Wentzville Campus Launch……..  When I came out from the back to lead worship for the first official Journey Wentzville Campus service, my heart sank. To see God’s work and the people he has strategically placed into my life, is amazing. Danny & Brittany Brooks (our Wentzville Campus Pastors) are some of the coolest people you could ever ask to meet. Their dedication to Christ is inspiring. I know that St. Charles County is about to be blasted with love.

 

#2 The Sunday Morning:  ‘Throwback’ to the 90’s Service………… I will admit it, part of me was not so thrilled about the 1990’s music selection for the morning services (Every Move I Make, We Want To See Jesus Lifted High, Lord I Lift Your Name On High, & Shout To The Lord). I struggled with the idea of playing those songs because some of those songs were the last songs I ever played in church, before I told myself I will never play music in church ever again. Funny how things happen. While playing them in the first service, I started to remember all kinds of stuff that I had forgotten from when I use to play those songs, like memories of friends in youth group praying at the altar during these songs. It was so surreal, it felt like I was a teenager again, and life as I know it had not yet happened yet. The feeling of freedom was mind blowing to say the least. For me, it was like going back into time and remembering why I fell in love with music to begin with. Power punch to the face!

elsh

#3 The Beach Baptism BBQ……… Well I am going to let you in on a little secret; we had a lot of problems with sound that night and we were supposed to practice at 3:30 before anyone arrived. That being said, the band was a bit nervous. Before we play, we always make it a point to pray together and ask God to help us lead others into worship. While waiting for 7pm to come, we all decided, practice or no practice, we were going worship no matter what. During the song I surrender, I could not shake the feeling that God was trying to get something across to all of us. I just kept singing WE SURRENDER and in my mind God was saying “if you are going to sing it you need to do it.” I don’t know about you, but there are times for me when I start to slowly pull back things that I have surrendered to God in the past. In that moment, it was like a sigh of relief and to just let go all over again.

This weekend was like no other weekend I have ever experienced.  I look forward to more monumental times like we all were able to be a part of this past weekend. Thank you to all the volunteers at the Wentzville and Troy Campus’. I also want to say a BIG THANK YOU to all of the band members who so diligently gave of their time to make worship a part of this weekend.

 

Love you all

Tim Overstreet

 

Leave a Reply

