Another Year with a World Changer — by Jesse

470985_10151818871059218_999033528_o

There she is y’all!  The one I literally THANK GOD for everyday in that He brought her into my life to be my best friend and wife.  Today, she turned a young 36 years old!  Yet she looks a lot younger than that – a trait I seem to lack severely!

We took the day and literally just enjoyed each other’s company, went shopping, ate lunch together, and ended the night celebrating our kids’ at Journey Youth’s Parent Night.  The one thing I wanted her to enjoy today, was the opportunity to do absolutely nothing. I wanted to serve her in every way possible…I didn’t want her to lift a finger.

You see, Missy Quiroz is such a selfless person.  I’m talking she literally lives her life for her family, and serves her family, in a way that displays the very definition of dedication.

Today, I just wanted her to experience the receiving end of that kind of dedication.  In that experience, I think she enjoyed it…however, I feel that I enjoyed it more.  I feel that God was showing me that there is always MORE I can do for her.  The very nature of serving someone shows the one you’re serving that they have tremendous value in our eyes.

Serving always accomplishes great things…always.  Check out this verse:

“As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace” 1 PETER 4:10

Allow me if you would the opportunity to take a ‘left turn’ with this verse in the context of how I viewed it, today. On December 20, 1996 – I received a ‘gift’…at Harvester Church of the Nazarene in St. Charles, MO (I remember it like it was last night).  That gift was the gift of marriage…and I want to use that GIFT as an opportunity to ensure that I am ‘serving’ my wife….not just on her birthday, but everyday.

I hope this blog doesn’t sound too jumbled, as I feel sometimes my thoughts kind of fly out without much structure to them…the point of my words in this post is that today, I’m thankful for the opportunity to serve my wife.  I pray that I can be of service to her in the way she is to me and the kids we have the privilege to raise.

Happy Birthday Melissa Kay Quiroz!

Leave a Reply

