Surrender — by Tim

Surrendering with White FlagSurrender= To give up in favor of another.

Recently I have been hooked on a song by Hillsong United. I have listened to the song countless times; I’m listening to it right now. The name of the song is “I Surrender” and it is one of those tunes that excite your inner spirit. My mind is blown away.

Here is my thought. Surrender? Why? It goes against everything I have grown up to know, watching war movies, cowboys and Indians, even cartoons. You never surrender!! Even when you think you have had it and you’re about to breath your last breath.  Now I am not writing all of this to say those movies and shows are bad to watch, you be the judge on that. What I am doing is trying to paint a picture of surrendering.  Surrendering is not an easy thing to do. It never has been and never will be. To wave your white flag, put your trust in the hands of another. It is humbling. As Christians we have to make that decision to surrender every morning when we wake up.

This song is all about letting God have his way. It is about giving yourself away, about surrendering your life and not just part of it. To know God and make him known.  My life is not my own, it took me a long time to figure that out and now all I can do is throw my arms up. Waving my white flag with the biggest smile on my face you have ever seen.

Take some time and listen to this song. It is 10 minutes 27 seconds that you will not regret I bet you even listen to it a second time. I know I have.

God Bless Tim overstreet

One thought on “Surrender — by Tim

  1. Thanks for posting this. It is true we must surrender to have victory. Thats definately contrary to the worlds way and certainly tvs example. Its so cool to see what God does when I do things his way. For sure its a daily battle. Fighting all weve learned in our early years. I’am excited to see what God is going to do in our church as we all walk this out.

Leave a Reply

