Jesus and Germs — by Jamie

Germs“Wash your hands and say your prayers, cause Jesus and germs are everywhere!”……..

I say this to my kiddos all the time. One, because I am a huge momzilla about them washing their hands and two, because I want them to know that God is…well, EVERYWHERE!
Germs are everywhere! And believe it or not, I am the one who always gets sick form these little microscopic demons that are the ruination of my immune system. As you all know, I have five kids who touch everything in the world that might hold a dreaded little germ and then these beautiful, loving and precious little kids come and love on me with all of these little germs on their hands and person. You guessed it….before you know it….MOM IS SICK! So my kids always hear, WASH YOUR HANDS!!!
Especially if we are just getting home from Walmart, because I am starting to think every germ in the world lives on the Walmart cart handles.
So, I saw this little saying somewhere, I have no idea how long ago and I fell in love with it. “Wash your hands and say your prayers, cause Jesus and germs are everywhere” Instant LOVE!
I want my kids to know how amazing God is and that he is everywhere in their life. So I did what any good mommy would do……I took this saying as my own and I say it all of the time. I encourage you to do the same.
It works well, and has gotten my kids to really think about God and his presence in their lives. It did backfire on me once though……
The kids and I had just come home from Walmart (as previously stated, this is the germ mecca of the world) and I had asked the kids to go and wash their hands. Without missing a beat, Davion (my youngest boy) looked up at me with his sweet little face and said, but mommy, if I wash off the germs I might wash off Jesus… and I just can’t take that risk! The kids and I laughed so hard we cried.
I thought in that moment how I can take so many things so seriously sometimes. Wash your hands, brush your teeth, comb your hair, put the seat down, pick up your toys, make your bed, rinse your plate, do your chores, no eating before dinner, no eating before bed….. On and on and on….. Sometimes I just need to relax and have fun!
I don’t want to be so much of a rules kind of mom that I “wash off” these fun and happy moments in my family’s life. My kids will only be kids for a very short time and I have decided that I do not want to take the RISK of washing these moments away.
This may mean that my house is a little messy from now on and my kids might miss brushing their teeth in the morning once and a while (because they can’t remember if I don’t tell them). But I will be gaining so much more than those things could ever amount to. Ten years from now I will never remember if the kids made their beds this morning or if they left a toy or two in the hallway but I will always remember that Davion didn’t want to wash away Jesus.
So, if you reading this, don’t for get to take some time out for the fun moments in life. Embrace the funny things that happen around you.
And remember, Germs are everywhere and so is JESUS!

Leave a Reply

