The Truth About Confidence — by Kory

Image

There is a lie that we seem to believe about confidence, or being confident I should say.  The lie we have believed is that we must FEEL confident in order to ACT confident.  In reality, we don’t have to FEEL confident at all to ACT confident.  If you want to feel confident, act confident.  In other words, you don’t have to believe it to do it, but you have to do it to believe it.

The most practical (and personal) way I can relate this is to talk about my early wrestling career.  For those that don’t know, I used to be a professional wrestler. (Yes THAT kind of wrestling.)  I debuted at the age of 19, on LIVE television, at the NBC Studios in Memphis, Tennessee.  I was on a roster with some guys I used to watch on TV when I was a little kid.  Nobody knew me and I had never done what I was doing.  I would step through the darkness of the curtain and into the bright lights of the studio and the faces and cheers of all the people in the crowd. And once the red light of that camera was on there was no turning back.  To say I felt confident would be an outright lie.  I was in WAAAAY over my head.  I was WAAAAY out of my league.  But, if I had given in to the way I felt in those moments, I wouldn’t have the amazing stories or experiences I was able to have.  You see, I had to act confident in those moments and the more I acted confident the more I began to feel confident.

Let me relate this spiritually.  It was a little over two years ago God spoke to me and told me I was going to be a pastor.  I was in no way, shape, or form feeling confident as I shared this information with my wife, especially the part of quitting my job I just got 6 months or so prior with no tangible guarantee what God was telling me would actually happen.  I had to act confident and take the steps in faith that God was telling me to take.  The more confident I ACTED and took steps of faith, the more I found God kept showing up and coming through.  I found myself growing confident that God has things under control.  All I needed to do was be confident in Him and keep taking the steps in obedience He was leading me to take.

So many times we limit what God wants to do because we have believed this lie that we must feel confident in order to obey Him.  If we would take steps no matter how much our knees knock together and our voice shakes and act confident in Him, have faith in Him and the work He wants to do, we will find ourselves being confident and trusting God more and more with our lives.

Kory

Leave a Reply

