No Sweat — by Jesse

Well…I just wanted to throw a quick post and let everyone know that I have been proudly ‘staying the course’ with my commitment in weight-loss and converting towards a healthier style of living with my diet and exercise through the ‘Biggest Loser’ competition at Journey…and I sure hope you are too (if you’re one of the many in the competition with me).

4 weeks out and I’m already 9 pounds lighter…which is great in my 34 year old opinion.  In my twenties…I’d be depressed with that number…but metabolism and me aren’t really the best of friends anymore.  The one thing that I can say I’m doing a lot of is – sweating.  I absolutely LOVE to run.  The time I get to just throw some ear buds in and take off for a few miles…gets me feeling great…and I’ve found that sweat easily finds its way out of my body and into my shirt in HUGE portions….heck I sweat easily just by preaching (just ask those who sit in the first two rows of the Auditorium…sorry y’all).

Sweat is a very interesting thing that we do.  If you think about – it’s like our skin LEAKS. What is this stuff?  What purpose does it serve?  Why do we do it?

The answer is pretty cool – it really gives testimony to just how amazing God is and what a GENIUS He was in creating our complex designed bodies.  This may not interest you like it did me – because after all – it’s sweat for crying out loud – GROSS – but check it out:

UNDERSTANDING SWEAT:

What_is_sweat

Sweat is essential to human survival and serves as the body’s coolant – protecting it from overheating.  In other words: NO SWEAT…NO LIFE!

There at 2-4 million sweat glands distributed all over our bodies.  The majority of them are ‘eccrine’ sweat glands which are found in large numbers on the soles of feet, the palms, the forehead and cheeks, and armpits.

Eccrine sweat glands secrete an odorless clear fluid that helps the body to control its temperature by promoting heat loss through evaporation.

TO ME, THAT IS AMAZING!!!

Anyways…I look forward to SWEATING out some life this weekend @ Journey as we have 7 treadmills on the stage and will be doing an illustrated message called ‘It’s YOUR race.’  See below…we’re locked and loaded…it’ll be a good time!

Image

Leave a Reply

