What is your Boogie Man? — by Jamie

I love Veggie Tales. They are cute, fun and give a great message in their songs and videos. One of my favorite songs that they have and one that I listen to often is called “God is Bigger than the Boogie Man”. This is a genius message for children and they teach it in a literal sense (i.e. monsters, ghosts and all manner of bumps in the night). If there is one thing I know its that you don’t have to be a child to have a boogie man in your life.

Your probably not tip toeing around your house and checking under the bed for little creepers every night, but lets get real, Little creepers might even be preferred when your facing down overdue bills, relationship troubles, being a good parent, juggling your career and family, health problems, unemployment and on and on to what may sometimes seem like a never ending list of boogie man monsters that we have all faced! We have to face hardships every day, some bigger than others. Sometimes the biggest boogie man I face in a day are the MOUNTAINS of laundry that a family of seven produces in a matter of twenty four hours, sometimes its being in the hospital with Natalee and others days it’s a lot of things happening all at once. Through it all I always remember that God is Bigger than the Boogie Man! He is bigger than any problem big or small that I face. God is trustworthy, he is powerful, he loves us and because of that when boogie men pop up in our lives we should focus on God rather than our problems.

One of the verses in the song says, “So, when I’m lying in my bed and the furniture starts creeping I’ll just laugh and say, “Hey, cut that out!” And get back to my sleeping ‘Cause I know that God’s the biggest And He’s watching all the while. So, when I get scared I’ll think of Him and close my eyes and smile!”

So what is your Boogie Man today? What is stressing you out? What is keeping you awake at night or fearful in your day? Do you know that God is bigger than all of your problems and even your Boogie Men?  So when you are facing down a boogie man and things are getting hard know that God is watching over you and guiding you and will be there with you as you go through your problems. Put a big smile on your face and show the world what it’s like to live in Gods grace!

“I prayed to the Lord, and He answered me. He freed me from all of my fears” (Psalms 34:4 NLT)

Leave a Reply

